Home»Politics»Ammo Tax Advances -Time to Get Involved

Ammo Tax Advances -Time to Get Involved

Pinterest WhatsApp

Article first appeared at Ammoland.com

Get updates directly to your inbox from GunsInTheNews.com!

Ammoland.com – Shelbyville, IL -(AmmoLand.com)- Instead of holding violent criminals accountable for the high cost of their crimes,  Board President Toni Preckwinkle wants to punish law-abiding gun owners with an outrageous ammunition tax.

Three years ago, the board passed a $25 tax on gun sales under the pretense that it would help to defray healthcare costs caused by violent criminals.  A proposed ammo tax failed at that time but now Preckwinkle is back to try again to punish law abiding gun owners for crimes they did not commit.

This is not an equal  tax on everyone.  It is specifically targeting law-abiding firearm owners. The only people who can legally purchase ammunition in IL must have a valid Firearm Owner Identification card, so the only people who will be taxed are the people who are NOT committing violent crimes.

The proposed tax will add 5 cents a round to the cost of centerfire ammo, over 20% increase in cost, not counting the regular sales tax.  A 1 cent per round for rimfire ammo means an increase of $5.00 a box for 500 .22 rimfire!  This is not just about revenue, it is an attack on the 2nd Amendment!

If you live in or shop in Cook County, contact the board members and oppose this unfair tax.

Cook County District maps are available here.

Richard R. Boykin (1st)
Main Office Phone: (312) 603-4566
Main Office Fax: (312) 603-3696
Email: [email protected]

Robert Steele (2nd)
Main Office Phone: (312) 603-3019
Main Office Fax: (312) 603-4055
District Phone: (773) 722-0140
District Fax: (773) 722-0145
Email: [email protected]

Jerry “Iceman” Butler (3rd)
Main Office Phone: (312) 603 6391
Main Office Fax: (312) 603-5671
Email: [email protected]

Stanley Moore (4th)
Main Office Phone: (312) 603-2065
Main Office Fax: (312) 603-2039
District Phone: (773)783-2412
District Fax: (773)783-2799
Email: [email protected]

Deborah Sims (5th)
Main Office Phone: (312) 603 6381
District Phone: (708) 371-4251
District Fax: (708) 371-4376
Email: [email protected]

Joan Patricia Murphy (6th)
Main Office Phone: (312) 603-4216
Main Office Fax: (312) 603-3693
District Phone: (708) 389-2125
District Fax: (708) 389-2240
Email: [email protected]

Jesus G. Garcia (7th)
Main Office Phone: (312) 603-5443
Main Office Fax: (312) 603-3759
District Phone: (773) 376-2700
District Fax: (773) 376-3320
Email: [email protected]

Luis Arroyo Jr. (8th)
Main Office Phone: (312) 603-6386
Main Office Fax: (312) 603-9531
Email: [email protected]

Peter N. Silvestri (9th)
Main Office Phone: (312) 603-4393
Main Office Fax: (312) 603-1154
District Phone:(773) 444-0346
District Fax:(773) 444-0373
Email: [email protected]

Bridget Gainer (10th)
Main Office Phone: (312) 603-4210
Main Office Fax: (312) 603-3695
District Phone: (773) 561-1010
District Fax: (773) 561-1025
Email: [email protected]

John P. Daley (11th)
Phone: (312) 603-4400
Fax: (312) 603-6688
Email: [email protected]

John A. Fritchey (12th)
Main Office Phone: (312) 603-6380
Main Office Fax: (312) 603-1265
District Phone: (773)71-4000
District Fax: (773) 423-0392
Email: [email protected]

Larry Suffredin (13th)
Main Office Phone: (312)603-6383
Main Office Fax: (312)603-3622
Email: [email protected]

Gregg Goslin (14th)
Main Office Phone: (312) 603-4932
Main Office Fax: (312) 603-3686
District Phone: (847) 729-9300
District Fax: (847) 729-2279
Email: [email protected]

Timothy O. Schneider (15th)
Main Office Phone: (312)603-6388
Main Office Fax: (312) 603-6500
District Phone: (847) 640-1632
District Fax: (847) 640-1910
Email: [email protected]

Jeffrey R. Tobolski (16th)
Main Office Phone: (312) 603-6384
Main Office Fax: (312) 603-4744
District Phone: (708) 352-2301
District Fax: (708) 352-2197
[email protected]

Sean M. Morrison (17th)
Main Office Phone: (312) 603-4215
Main Office Fax: (312) 603-2014
District Phone: (708) 349-1336
District Fax: (708) 349-1627
Email: [email protected]

About Illinois Carry:

The IllinoisCarry forum was started in April 2004 as a grassroots online action and discussion forum dedicated to advancing the Right to Carry in IL. We fight the battle for freedom on three fronts: the legislative front, the judicial front, and the electoral front.  IllinoisCarry works closely with other organizations in Illinois that are working to protect our 2nd Amendment Rights. We encourage you to register on our forum and join the fight for your 2nd Amendment Rights in Illinois.

For more information, visit: www.IllinoisCarry.com.


Don't forget to like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.

Previous post

Smith & Wesson Full-Size and Compact M&P Pistols Now Available

Next post

Misinformed Man Equates Gun Rights With Motorcycle Ownership, Gets White House Invite